Picture
Today I was walking in to Kidz Company with Spicer and the sun was bright and beaming down.   I noticed as I was walking a figure out of the corner of my eye.  I found myself shocked to realize it was my shadow.   Who was this curvy and fit outline?  It was me!!!   I'm not sure why but it just really struck me today.  I felt very good about myself today.   This feeling comes and goes.  Somedays I look at my body with hate and frustration.   We have a difficult relationship, my body and I.  

My dad called me today and was very excited to inform me that he was going on an all juice diet.  Really?  All juice?  Is he really going to be able to do that?  I think he wanted me to say, "Great Job!!  You can do it."  But what I ended up saying was, "Daddy do you really think this is something you could do for 60 days?  Then he modified his statement by saying, " Well I think I might just eat more fruits and veggies and not eat fried foods."  I told him that seemed more practical but again I questioned him eliminating a whole section of foods from his diet.   Why do people do that with diets?  Why is it often all or nothing?  "I'm going on the all grapefruit diet."  I'm not going to eat any carbs."  "I'm going to only drink these shakes."  "Im going to only eat these microwave meals. "   And while I'm on my soap box ...why on earth do people give up on diets so easy?  People would look at you as if you were nuts if you did that in other aspects of your life.  Like what if you said, "My husband and I are getting a divorce becasue we had one fight. "  or "I am sending my son off to military school becasue he got intouble at school once."  or " I quit my job becasue I had one bad day."  You would never do that.  But for some odd reason people feel perfectly fine with giving up on diets like that.  Have you ever heard, "I gained weight so I am quiting my diet" or "I had a double cheese burger and chilli cheese fries so I quit." or "I quit going to the gym becasue we didn't go any these last few weeks."  REALLY???  REALLY???   Why do people do that.  Do I mess up?  Oh yes!!! Do I skip exercise? Do I eat too much? Do I eat the wrong things?  YES YES YES!!!!!  We all do.  But then you get back up in the morning and you start all over again.  Every day is a new day.  Heck every meal is a fresh start.   So you ate too much lunch... Eat a smaller dinner!!!  So you had that hot fudge Sunday, that is your splurge day.  Just dont eat one everyday.   So you had that movie butter popcorn.  Modify your next meal.  This isn't some majic trick people.  This is a lifestyle change.  An effort to improve health by eating less and exercising more.  That's it.  There isn't some magic pill or food or equipment you use for 5 mins a day.  Just Calories In and Calories Out.  
Picture



Leave a Reply.