Picture
Tommy and I have been cooking more and I am really enjoying it.  Thursday night I was looking through my Mamaw's recipe box for a dessert for Sunday night dinner.   I found a great one that was my Great Grandmother Bonnie's.   You can take a look at the lighter version of her cake in the Cooking Lighter section of my blog.   I was filled memories of Bonnie and my Mamaw and all the other people who have left this world.   I decided I wanted to use my Great Grandmother Elizabeth's (everyone called her Mimi) china seen in the picture above.   Then I started thinking about the phrase, "You are what you eat."   I am what I eat.   All these memories are attached to something food related.   The cake, the china, the table that used to me my Mamaw's that we eat on every Sunday.   Even the bundt cake pan was my Nannie's.   I am so happy to have these memories and these items that anchor these memories.   Last night I set out to find a picture of Bonnie at my parents’ house.  In the course of that search I found lots of pictures that I ended up taking back home and scanning.  It was amazing how vivid my memories were.  The photos seemed to help them come alive.   I was so excited about sharing the photos I stayed up late last night and scanned a ton of them.  I plan to upload a few more later.   Last night my mom gave me some wonderful Williams and Sonoma mixing bowls.  I can't help but hope someday Spicer and his children and children's children will use my recipes, or my china, or my mixing bowls.   Here's to memories!

Picture
Great Gandmother Bonnie
Picture
Great Grandmother Elizabeth (Mimi)
Picture
My Mamaw
Picture
My Nannie
Picture
My Mom with Simon the Cat and me in the belly



Leave a Reply.