Picture
































Two of the most important women in my life LOVED Kentucky basket ball.  My Mamaw and my Nannie loved to watch Kentucky ball.  My Mamaw used to ask our pastor to have a short sermon on Sundays that Kentucky was playing.  Nannie and Papa Joe went to Rup Arena several times.   I haven't been a big sports person but Tommy really loves sports.  I have found myself paying attention durring March Madness.  All of this Blue has made me think of these two amazing women.   There are so many times I think about how wonderful it would have been for them to have known Spicer.  I was close to both of them but Very close to my Mamaw.   I miss her so much sometimes.  There are so many times I wish she was there for me to talk to or to cry on her shoulder or to share in my joy.   I try to tink about what she would think of the person I have become.  I hope she would be proud of me.  I hope she would think I have made good choices.   I love her so much.   Even now I feel so close to her these many years after she had passed away.   She is the reason I went into a social service field.  Even thought she was a teacher she was more of a social worker to her students.   Mamaw loved Kentucky.  She loved Kentucky Sports, Kentucky history, kentucky authors, and the land.   This blog is in honor my dear Mamaw, Mary Sue McKendree and her love for Kentucky.   I love you Mamaw!!!


The sun shines bright in My Old Kentucky home,
'Tis summer, and people are gay;
The corn-top's ripe and the meadow's in the bloom
While the birds make music all the day.

The young folks roll on the little cabin floor
All merry, all happy and bright;
By 'n' by hard times comes a knocking at the door
Then My Old Kentucky Home, good night!

Weep no more my lady
Oh! weep no more today!
We will sing one song
For My Old Kentucky Home
For My Old Kentucky Home, far away.









Leave a Reply.