Picture
"Getting lost will help you find yourself."

It is an amazing quote.  I have been thinking about this quote for the last few days.  The words couldn't be truer.  There have been several times in my life where I felt so lost and so alone.   But it is often at that point, at the bottom, where we realize we need to change, where we learn the most about ourselves, and where we find ourselves.  In the movie The Day the Earth Stood Still there is a great quote from the professor.  He says, "But it's only on the brink that people find the will to change. Only at the precipice do we evolve. “  That’s how I feel about my divorce, my weight loss, several things in my life where I have hit rock bottom.  But we do change; we do evolve if we choose to.  Although my body has been shrinking I feel like my mind, heart, and spirit have expanded.  I have gained so much knowledge just by listening, reading, learning, and teaching.   Last night we had a training and one of my foster parents who has just finished all their initial foster parent training said, "Thank you so much for everything you do, you are amazing."  I thanked her but she has no idea how much she and my other foster parents and foster children have taught me.  Although I am the trainer they teach me.   I have learned so much in the almost 8 in my job.   My hope is that someone reading this will be inspired to change, to evolve at the precipice of their situation, at the brink, to change.  Here's to change, here's to being lost then finding yourself.    



Leave a Reply.