Picture
fast   (fst) intr.v. fast·ed, fast·ing, fasts 1. To abstain from food. 2. To eat very little or abstain from certain foods, especially as a religious discipline. n. 1. The act or practice of abstaining from or eating very little food. 2. A period of such abstention or self-denial.




As a person of faith I find myself most in line with Methodist teachings, ideas, and doctrine.  One thing that Methodists do is observe Lent.  I have always had trouble giving up things for Lent.  So instead of giving one thing up for 40 days I have decided to fast for 24 hours.  Although I do not consider myself a religious person I do consider myself a spiritual person.   I am nervous, excited, and hopeful about my fasting.  I have been reading up on fasting and it is healthy if only done for a 24 hour period.  From what I have read some spas and diet fads say it is ok to drink juice while you fast but there are limited health benifits other than some initial weight loss if you drink juice durring a fast.  I have decided to fast and drink water only.  If this is something I feel I can manage I plan to fast one day a month.  I think in a time of over indulgance in so many things fasting makes a statment.  I think self denial is not only an important part of my wieght-loss journey but also an important part of my journey of Faith.   Here is a story done on NPR about 24 hour fasting. 

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=16513299

On another note... I lost one more pound this week.  Am I frustrated?  A little....but...I lost three pounds last week so I expected I might just loose one pound this week.   I am still excited.  This puts me at 21 pounds total.  :)









Leave a Reply.