When Tommy and I set out on our vacation we had no intention of losing weight.  I had resolved in my head that I would try to at least maintain my weight but that if I gained a few pounds I was not going to get bent out of shape over it.   Before I left my dad called me and said, "Elizabeth, I know you and Tommy are on a diet but you should just enjoy yourself in Europe.  I am not saying go hog wild but just don't miss this lifetime chance to sample some of the best food the world has to offer."   So I took my dad's words to heart and also kept in mind that I wasn't going to go nuts either.   I have been spot weighing all week and was very surprised to find that I lost weight in Europe.   I lost 4 pounds today at my weigh-in.  Here are a few tips to maintaining and maybe even losing weight on vacation. 

1.  Walk and/or bike when you can.   Tommy and I walked and biked all over Europe.  It is not only a healthy way of transportation but it is also cheap or in the case of walking free!!

2.  Split meals and desserts.  Tommy and I had several high calorie meals and desserts but we split them.  This really cut down on the calories and helped with the cost.

3.  Eat light when you can.   We opted for very light breakfasts and often lunches.  

4.  Make unhealthier meals lighter.  You can work to make things lighter by doing things like getting a sauce on the side and opt for the leaner meats (Lean beef, chicken).   We ate from the basket of bread but never asked for a re-fill. 

4.  Don't deny yourself.  I feel like Tommy and I enjoyed the food and Europe and we NEVER deprived ourselves. 

Here are a few pictures of some of our yummy dishes in Europe...



Leave a Reply.